top of page
Thomas R. Monahan

Thomas R. Monahan Honor Award

The Connecticut High School Coaches Association annually presents this honor award to a member of the education profession who has made significant contributions to high school athletics while exhibiting the qualities of leadership, integrity and professionalism which have become synonymous with the man for whom this recognition is named: Thomas R. Monahan, one of the Association’s founding fathers and most esteemed leaders. It is the Coaches Association’s highest award to professional educators from within the CHSCA, CIAC and the NHSACA.

Thomas R. Monahan Honor Award Past Winners
1984 Jack Casagrande, Brien McMahon (Norwalk)
1985 Joe Folino, Staples (Westport)
1986 Mario Ciarlo, Wilby (Waterbury)
1987 Karen O’Connor, Lewis Mills (Burlington)
1988 Judy Sylvester, CIAC
1989 Ben Zajac, Platt (Meriden)
1990 Larry McHugh, Middlesex County Chamber of Commerce
1991 Robert Healy, Manchester
1992 Nick Zeoli, Wilton
1993 Al Cramer, CIAC
1994 Ed Ferrigno, Windham
1995 Robert Cecchini, Suffield
1996 Chris Webster, North Branford
1997 Bill Baron, East Hartford
1998 Charles Sharos, South Windsor
1999 Thomas Murray, Branford
2000 Dave Deacon, Hall (West Hartford)
2001 Gary Makowicki, Norwich Free Academy
2002 Vincent A. Iovino, Jr.
2003 Ralph A. King, Brien McMahon (Norwalk)
2004 Jerry McDougall, Trumbull
2005 Rob Szymaszek, Maloney (Meriden)
2006 John Kuczo, Stamford
2007 Ken Kezer, New Britiain
2008 Mark Logan, RHAM (Hebron)
2009 Don Pisati, Metropolitan Learning Center
2010 Frank Stamilio, Nike Clinic
2011 Joe Madaffari, Brien McMahon

2012 Beth Sarnacki, Cromwell

2013 Cookie Bromage, Enfield

2014 Babby Nuhn, North Branford

2015 Mike Pitruzzello, Middletown

2016 Sal Follo, Milford

2017 Scott Aresco, Maloney (Meriden)

2018 Pat Simon, Jonathan Law (Milford)

2019 *Note* Award not presented, due to COVID 19 Pandemic

2020 *Note* Award not presented, due to COVID 19 Pandemic

2021 Charles Claffey, William H. Hall (West Hartford) 

2022-23 Joseph E. Monroe - Chari CHSCA Retiree Committee

bottom of page