top of page

CHSCA Coach of the Year (COTY)

Outstanding Coach of the Year Award
     Each year the Connecticut High School Coaches Association’s Executive Board meets in November to select an outstanding coach for each recognized CIAC sport.

     These coaches are honored yearly at a dinner held at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington in May.

During this dinner, the association hands out its highest three awards to individuals or companies who have helped the association over the years become the strong, sound organization it is. The three top awards are the Josepn J. Fontana Distinguished Service Award, the Thomas R. Monahan Honor Award and the Joseph Calvanese CHSCA Sponsorship Award.

Committee Members for Outstanding Coach
Gary Makowicki, Norwich Free Academy (chair)
Tom Murray, Branford
Mark Logan, RHAM
Len Corto, New Britain
Jim Penders, East Catholic
Beth Sarnacki, Cromwell
Ralph King, Norwalk

Committee Members for Recognition Dinner
*John Fontana, Southington

Hall of Fame Awards

At the initial Connecticut High School Coaches Association executive board meeting, during the school year 1977-1978, Larry McHugh suggested initiating a Connecticut High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame.
The first induction was held on March 31, 1978 at the Shearton Park Plaza in New Haven at noontime ceremony.
The Connecticut High School Hall of Fame committee meets each year during a May meeting to discuss and select the next CHSCA Hall of Fame class.
The CHSCA holds its induction ceremony in November at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington.
The inaugural inductees were: Sam Bender, Hillhouse High School; Frank Crisafi, East Haven High School; Cornelius “Connie” Donahue, Torrington High School; Joseph Fontana, Southington High School; Paul J. Kuczo, Sr., Stamford High School; Thomas M. Monahan, Bristol High School; Thomas R. Monahan, Bristol High School; and Andy Robustelli, Director of Operations for the New York Giants – Special Recognition Award.

Ken Kezer, Chairman
Cyndie Adamski
Cookie Bromage
Robert Cecchini
John J. Fontana
Ralph King
Larry McHugh
Babby Nuhn
Jim Penders
Mike Pitruzzello
Charlie Sharos
Dave Strong
Kathy Walling

bottom of page